Skydiving : When seconds feel like hours

So here’s a photo blog of my skydiving-at-the-hamptons adventure! Keep calm. I wasnt scared or nervous as it looks in these pics 🙂 My instructor said I should’ve been though. It was not normal how I jumped from the plane from a height of 10,000ft. without blinking. Well, maybe I have secret suicidal instincts? I kept on screaming through those seconds out of sheer excitement and the unbelievable ease by which I could fly like a bird, which has been my unrealistic dream since forever. I have always wished to be born as a bird (but preferably a bird of prey. Dont ask me why.) in some life.

Skydiving is one of those adventures which feel like forever while you are doing it. It may seem like you were soaring for hours among that clear sky, over the sparkling blue water, in the mist of those thin clouds. And once you come back to the ground and check your watch, you realise it was not more than 3-4 minutes! I guess that’s how our happiest moments are, short but feel like forever. And now, my pics for your fun, enjoyment and jokes. Go on, I wont mind 🙂 Totally worth.

DCIM102GOPRO

Excitement – 10. Nervousness – 0

DCIM102GOPRO

Woah! The view!

DCIM102GOPRO

Happy as a clam!

DCIM102GOPRO

Do I look good?

DCIM102GOPRO

The view – 2!

DCIM102GOPRO

A little nervous maybe?

DCIM102GOPRO

And we jump!

DCIM102GOPRO

Jump towards your death is what you’ll feel

DCIM102GOPRO

Something’s gone wrong? Why are we rotating?

DCIM102GOPRO

DCIM102GOPRO

DCIM102GOPRO

Again! What’s with the rotating?

DCIM102GOPRO

And we are stable! Wohoo!

DCIM102GOPRO

Ignore me. Checkout the view.

DCIM102GOPRO

Wow. I can see the horizon!

DCIM102GOPRO

Still alive!

DCIM102GOPRO

There’s the horizon!

DCIM102GOPRO

While I’m in another world, my instructor keeps reminding me to pose while in the air! Absolutely love him for that!

DCIM102GOPRO

You can actually see the Earth’s curvature!

DCIM102GOPRO

hahaha…I’ve gone mad! I’ve had the elixir of life! I’m free!

DCIM102GOPRO

Steer 1.

DCIM102GOPRO

Aaaa….what’s happening! Heartbeats skipped – 100

DCIM102GOPRO

Am I alive?

DCIM102GOPRO

I’m falling and about to die! For sure!

DCIM102GOPRO

Steer 2 – Heartbeats skipped – 10

DCIM102GOPRO

Ok. It should be over in an hour.

DCIM102GOPRO

Or not?

DCIM102GOPRO

Wow, I dont know what to say! Its over already?

DCIM102GOPRO

I cant pose right now. Give me a minute to breathe!

DCIM102GOPRO

This pic best expresses my feeling!

I think I did get nervous when we were navigating the parachute because you actually get into a sort of no-gravity zone for a second or two. And that’s little scary because it happens when you least expect it. Thanks to the instructors!

After landing, I frankly dint know how was I feeling. I was so high on adrenaline that I just wanted to keep on screaming. And it was so exhausting (because of the wind blowing at such high speed right in your face and body), that I couldnt move from my bed for 2 days staright. I caught a little fever, cold and everything. So frankly kept on cursing for doing this to myself.

And then, after I got normal and thought back, I could still feel the rush. And that’s why now I can say it was THE most awesome experiences I’ve had. Because of the feeling you get later thinking about it. At least in my case that’s how it is. I might not need to take another jump for a long time because my heartbeat still increases thinking about this one! Wow! What an activity!

Oh, and I loved my instructor for not giving up on me regarding the pics though. I was busy enjoying the moment(s) and practically lost in my dreamland but he kept bringing me back, tapping me on the shoulder with a little whisper ‘Dont forget to look towards the camera and smile.

Again, a huge shout-out and thanks to the 516-skydive team for this amazing experience!

This entry was posted in Travelling Pants and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Skydiving : When seconds feel like hours

  1. Pingback: Bucket list item #3 – Skydiving – Check – Figments Of Reality and A Little Crazy Stuff

Leave a Reply

