5 Tips To Start Saving Small

saving

I was sitting on the couch with a cup of tea in my hand and gaping at my expense checklist for last month. It looked insane. How can almost half of my expenditure be on commutation! It was not fair. I spend so much on transport, and cannot even claim I know half the city! After a lot of brainstorming, what I realized was that much of these expenses were because of poor planning. And then I tried to cut-back and save some bucks. Below are a few tips that helped me reduce my expenses exponentially. I’ll keep adding to this, as and when I’ll find a new trick.

–          If possible, try to complete all your outdoor commitments during daylight. This way you save on the cab that you need to take when going home late.

–          Shop monthly or on a fortnightly basis. For example, if you know that you need some snacks with the evening tea everyday, buy a saver pack of your favorite cookies or chips to last a month.

–          Plan your outdoor activities and divide your tasks according to the area you need to go to. This will help you avoid multiple trips to the same place for different needs.

–          If you have the option, use public transport as much as possible. We randomly take an auto these days, where we have Metros and Volvos. If you know the route, you might like taking a bus and saving a huge fraction of your monthly income.

–          Spend some time in planning and do some research before going to a new place. For example, you can use Google maps to find the cheapest way to reach your destination.

This entry was posted in OPINION and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

